Goodbye Medium

Alexey Novakov
SE Notes by Alexey Novakov
1 min readMay 13, 2020

After struggling so much with Medium’s text formatting style, I have finally made a step forward and set up my own static web-site.

Now new stories will be published on my static website on GitHub. The web-site is done in Rust Zola static website generator, which is very fast and feature rich.

Writing blog-post in Markdown and HTML gives me maximum outcome. Also, I can change website layout anytime. If you are an engineer, you should build your own static website as it is a lot of fun as well.

One theoretical advantage of Medium may seem an ability to follow someone’s blog like in Twitter and get likes for your own posts. Do you really need this social-media features? I do not. One can be good informed these days without being linked to another social network.

Enjoy freedom and free with no restrictions tools!

--

--