Become a Blockchain Expert with These 5 Books

Chloe Diamond
Sea Foam Media
Published in
5 min readSep 6, 2018
“Artists Re:Thinking the Blockchain”

A friend of mine recently asked me for a list of book recommendations to find out more about blockchain and how to get involved. Although she’s a beginner, I included some books which I felt personally inspired me and got me thinking about blockchain in a different way, rather than those that only discuss the technology side in terms that are more cut and dry.

Several of the books listed were published a while ago and might be considered out-of-date, although I still feel like they’re relevant in regards to how they explain the concept of blockchain and cryptocurrency and how they can encourage readers to think from a different perspective.

I’m always looking to update my resources and to hear different opinions so, if you have any suggestions for me, please don’t hesitate to share!

‘The Age of Cryptocurrency: How Bitcoin and Digital Money Are Challenging the Global Economic Order’ by Paul Vigna & Michael J. Casey

This was one of the first blockchain-related books I read back in 2015 after hearing about something called Bitcoin from friends who were mining on the outskirts of Tbilisi. Although Vigna and Casey do a thorough job of explaining the ins and outs of blockchain technology and its potential to affect our daily lives, it probably wasn’t the best starting point as I didn’t find it easily digestible, which is a priority for me when I’m learning about something new.

That being said, this book would be a great way to further expand your knowledge of crypto while also gaining some knowledge about the history of money and the economy. This side is often overlooked, but I feel it is vital to be able to understand why cryptocurrencies are so significant but also to allow us to make informed decisions about our personal finances.

‘Blockchain Revolution’ by Don & Alex Tapscott

This book feels like a classic in the space, nearly everyone I encounter uses it as a reference. In this book, renowned father and son team Don and Alex Tapscott discuss how blockchain technology is changing the way we think about money and transactions and what that might mean for the future of the economy.

They believe blockchain technology has the potential to expand the way we interact with businesses, how we protect private information and expand the Internet of Things (IoT).

This book would be best suited to someone who has a general idea of what blockchain is but wants more depth, especially if readers are eager to separate the current stage we’re experiencing in the infancy of blockchain and what the Tapscott’s believe will be the future of it.

‘Blockchain: Blueprint for a New Economy’ by Melanie Swan

I was compelled to pick up this book by Melanie Swan as I’d heard it was great for a high-level understanding of blockchain technology as well as the possibilities of its application beyond cryptocurrencies and smart contracts.

For me, I’m more inclined towards reading about the use cases of the technology rather than the details of how blockchain works, as it fuels my ideas and helps me link the different elements of the technology together. I would say this book ticks those boxes and is worth a read if you’re trying to understand why anyone would choose to get involved with this seemingly-sci-fi world, although it can be dense in places and maybe not as beginner-friendly as others.

‘Life After Google: The Fall of Big Data and the Rise of the Blockchain Economy’ by George Gilder

Aside from the books which I felt gave me a good introduction to the blockchain world, I’m also inclined towards the more philosophical (I can’t get enough of Bitgenstein’s Table podcasts) and, perhaps, controversial theories which blockchain evokes. Whether I agree with the sentiment or not is irrelevant, but even for entertainment value, I would recommend giving this one a read.

Gilder gleefully approaches the delicate topic of the power and vulnerabilities of the Big N companies and their current status in the technology arena. A highly topical theme, Gilder focuses on issues surrounding security and data protection which, after Cambridge Analytica, appears to be of household concern these days.

This one is not great for general knowledge about blockchain, but rather as a way to get your brain juices flowing, imagining what could be a reality in the not-too-distant future.

‘Artists Re:Thinking the Blockchain’ by Ruth Catlow, Marc Garrett, Nathan Jones, Sam Skinner

This may be a slightly biased choice as an art enthusiast, but I felt like this should be included as a means to show people (both beginners and experts) the possibility blockchain has in somewhat unconventional fields that I feel are not yet given adequate recognition.

In my article ‘Past Meets Present: Blockchain’s Influence on Fine Art’ I discuss the ways I think blockchain will disrupt the art industry through issues of ownership, transparency and accessibility with a slight hint towards its use as an artistic medium.

What excites me about Artists Re:Thinking the Blockchain is the creativity of the pieces discussed and how each artist mentioned has taken this technology and warped it in such a way that we may not be able to recognise it if we come from ‘inside’ the space. By playing with it and making it fun, artists can not only encourage new swathes of people to get interested, but they can evoke a different way of thinking for those of us who already live and work within the blockchain world.

Although the application of blockchain in the art world is quite specific, it reveals the variety of ways we could apply this technology across sectors, outside of finance and technology, to both enhance and develop them in ways we might not have previously imagined.

Sea Foam Media is a blockchain, ICO & STO agency headquartered in San Francisco, with representation in New York and London. I work out of our London office as the Director of Media.

Sea Foam Media provides end-to-end services for our clients, including whitepaper development, technology vision and architecture, token economics, digital marketing, PR, web and mobile app development, private blockchain network development, and smart contracts.

Find out more at www.seafoam.media!

--

--