Creative tension and creative relaxation

J. Hwan Jeon
그림노트 —  season 2
3 min readMay 23, 2020

I need to live in different ways on weekdays and weekends. On weekdays, I normally set my goals and try to achieve them. But on weekends, I should change my way of life.

Three weeks ago, on 30th April, my wife and I went to Sumak-Ri. It was the first time in a few months that we went out of the downtown in Jeju city. There was no specific plan other than going near Sumak-Ri. I found Mulyeongari-Oreum and reached there. We enjoyed serendipity. When we arrived at the parking lot of that Oreum, my wife felt drowsy. Then we stayed in the car for a while. She took a nap. I read a book. I felt happy at that moment.

About 30 mintues later, we got out of the car and started walking around. We found a beautiful meadow with dozens of cows before the hill. My wife and I really liked this scenery.

When we reached the starting point of the hill, we found the guideboard, which said it would take a hour and a half from the bottom of the hill to the top.

I set my goal to go to the top. But she looked around and walked very slowly. I was worried that we couldn’t reach the top and come back before sunset. But she was walking very slowly with just looking beautiful trees and flowers around steps. I urged her to hurry up several times and she got annoyed. Finally we decided that she went down to the meadow and I went to the top alone.

At the top of the hill, there was nothing special. I climbed down faster and faster. When I came back to the meadow, she was seeing cows and whistling for them. Some cows rose up and strolled around. It looked very peaceful.

I realized that I forgot why I traveled there. I wanted to escape from my daily work schedule and have a good time and relax. But in spite of myself, I missed the beauty and experience of the trip.

I was able to enjoy my time, but I was tied up to my meaningless goal by myself at that time. Of course, on weekdays, most of the time, I have to set and follow goals in time. However, all I have to do on weekends is just to restore my mindfulness.

Jeju Island seems like one of the best places for creative life. But, only when I could afford to change my mode freely between tension and relaxation in the right place at the right time, I could enjoy a more satisfying and creative life.

--

--

J. Hwan Jeon
그림노트 —  season 2

An intermediary between IT and Culture. Majored in Computer Science and Arts Management. Currently Accelerating Startups in Jeju Island of South Korea.