2nd Infustion of Nivolumab (aka Opdivo)

Ted Rheingold
Season of the Witch
3 min readJun 29, 2016

Hey, that’s my mom! She out here for about 8 days. The good news, switching from my chemo cocktail to the immunological Nivolumab treatment has made my day to day better including far fewer side affects and pain. It does overlay low energy on me, (but I’m used to that.) I’m up and about the house every day on the average day, but Im not stuck in bed for some days as I was after each chemo session

Mom!

If you want to get geeky here’s the description of Nivolumab: Nivolumab works by targeting the cellular pathway known as PD-1/PD-L1 (proteins found on the body’s immune cells and some cancer cells). By blocking this pathway, Nivoluman may help the body’s immune system fight cancer cells. Nivolumab is intended for use in renal cell carcinoma in patients who have received prior anti-angiogenic therapy (treatments that interfere with the blood vessels that contribute to the growth of cancerous cells).

Weighty challenges continue

One big symptom I still do have to manage is I’ve I’ve lost 40lbs of weight. I’ve stabilized at about 142lbs, which is kind of grim, but at least I’m fine being home and not in the hospital. I do need to be very proactive about eating to stay at this level. But it’s not easy. I’m challenged by a low appetite, high sensitivity to vomiting, taste bud changes and a stomach that prematurely fills. So I try to eat small meals all day long. I’m obsessed with calories — calories from fat and protein. I get frustrated when a bad nutrition day follows up on 3 good days, but I’m try keeping my thoughts on weeks and months and not how any single days portends to my long-term trends. Nonetheless it’s easy to get down on bad days.

Three cheers for marijuana

I have been introduced to one marijuana element that can really stimulate my appetite which is a CBD (cannabinoid) compounds call Rick Stimson Oil. It’s thought by true believers that very high doses of it can kill tumors, but that’s not how I’m using it. Maybe once the FDA is allowed to do medical tests on hemp and cannabis plants than we may now all it can do, but I’m very happy to get an appetite out of the medium doses I’ve been taking. To answer the first question, It doesn’t make me high like smoking a joint would, but after a while Im kind of goofy. It also helps control low-level pain so it’s a real winner for me.

And My Friends They Come Around

Friends keeping coming by all the time which is really nice. Conversations are always deep, profound and at length. It’s like being at Burning Man where no one has to run to next meetings, or phones are blowing up. It’s really quite pleasant considering the circumstances. Last week I went over to a couple friends houses so Im very glad I’m feeling more mobile. I always feel better when I with friends or family. It’s akin to a dose of happiness medicine. Traveling far from the house or committing to too many hours has felt too high-risk. I’ve probably turned down 20 Warriors ticket offers and another 15 baseball and concert tix. We’d have loved to have been at at those Warriors games (even Cavs game 7) but the transit lengths are usually the deal breaker. Just too far. Also, with my weakened immune system I need to avoid large crowds

New Hampshire on My Mind

Tell me this view doesn’t cure carcinoma’s of unknown primary

We are, however, hoping to pull off a major journey to New Hampshire later this summer where we have a family place we all love. We’re hoping to be there for ~2 weeks. Tremendous shout to the friends helping with a fast plane. There’s no where we’d rather be, so we’re putting all our effort into making this work.

--

--

Ted Rheingold
Season of the Witch

Wrestling with stage 4 carcinoma thanks to amazing researchers and oncologists. Passion for making the Internet do exciting and wonderful things.