Good News / Bad News

Ted Rheingold
Season of the Witch
2 min readJun 7, 2016

The bad news is that I had my first PET/CT scan since before chemo started 6 weeks ago and we’re seeing mixed results. One tumors is almost gone, but the more dangerous tumors on my organs are roughly 1cm bigger.

Considering the mixed results and the increased likelihood that I have a renal (kidney) cell cancer, my oncologist is switching me to an immunological treatment for the next 6–8 weeks that has shown good results on kidney cancer. The good news is it wont have nearly the side affects as chemo does (nausea, chemo brain, body pain). (This previous round of chemo had my on my back from day 2 to 7 afterwards.) Also good news is the fact the immunological therapies can be much more effecting at killing the cancer, not just slowing it down. It’s still long odds that this renal carcinoma treatment will work for me, or even if the true source of my cancer in kidney, but I’m happy enough to get to try.

Thanks for all your well-wishes and sincere concern. Here are some funny gifs and vids that I was got recently:

keep’em coming :)

--

--

Ted Rheingold
Season of the Witch

Wrestling with stage 4 carcinoma thanks to amazing researchers and oncologists. Passion for making the Internet do exciting and wonderful things.