Saving Trees, One Post at a Time: #LetThereBeTrees

Sebastian Romero
Seb Romero
Published in
2 min readApr 26, 2018
Facebook Background Layout
Snapchat Filter

The Overview

The goal for this assignment was to create a social media campaign for three different social media platforms. I chose to use #LetThereBeTrees because I wanted to raise awareness on a nature related issue.

The Context and Challenge

For this assignment students were asked to create a social media campaign for a cause of their choice. I chose to do a campaign to bring attention to the effects of deforestation. I wanted to create a campaign that would grab the attention of a viewer but was also simple to understand and use the assets on their own social media platforms.

The Process and Insight

Once I came up with my campaign slogan, I went to UnSplash to look for photo assets to use in my campaign. I chose to go with a green scheme for most of the campaign as green is often connected to nature and trees. I also tried to use colours that didn’t clash with the background images or colours to keep a cohesive and easy on the eyes design.

The Solution

I decided to use Facebook, Snapchat, and Instagram. I decided to go with the Snapchat, Facebook and Instagram because for me these social media platforms were the most used and more popular. The one that I was more proud of was the two Snapchat layouts and the two Facebook layouts.

The Result

How I felt about this assignment is that it really opened my mind to look for ideas and to be really be creative for this assignment. Another thing is that i’m proud of the way I used to look for pictures and make sure that they were not completely off topic.

--

--