How To Build a DIY Electronic Drum Kit

Seb Atkinson
SebDrums
Published in
15 min readFeb 23, 2017

--

Learn how to build this

For nearly four years, I’d stopped playing drums. There were two main reasons. While I had an electronic drum kit, it was dreadful — the Roland HD1 entry level kit. Great for beginners, but it just didn’t offer a good experience for seasoned drummers with it’s small rubber pads, poor built-in pedals and woefully out of date drum sounds. The other reason was noise. While not nearly as loud as an acoustic kit, electronic drums transmit a lot of noise downwards thanks to the pedals, and living in an apartment made this a bit inconsiderate to my downstairs neighbours.

That all changed last year when I moved into a house, and I finally decided to upgrade my kit and get back into drumming properly as the noise factor would be less of an issue. Having traded in my HD1 and my beloved Zidjian A Customs (a sad, sad day) to raise some funds, I picked up a Roland TD-11 KV Special Edition, which sits halfway between the standard TD-11 KV and the TD-25 in the Roland range, with a ‘proper’ looking hi-hat mounted on a stand, an extra cymbal and a larger rack than the standard TD-11 kits.

The playing experience was far superior than my old HD1, but I was still playing on small drum pads, and I wanted something a bit more authentic.

Apart from simply looks, I found that playability wasn’t ideal with the small pads. It’s too easy to accidentally…

--

--

Seb Atkinson
SebDrums

I mostly write about SEO and digital marketing, plus other interest in travel and electronic drums.