A beginning

Pallu Newatia
Second Sin
Published in
2 min readSep 8, 2016

So after much deliberation, the first post on my blog is finally underway. It took a lot of pushing from dear friends over the past year, with the last nudge coming from my techie son who set up the blog site for me. Thank you all you guys.:)

Nothing better to begin this journey with a recipe that I actually began my baking journey with, the all time favourite Red Velvet cake.

Though, this time I do not have pictures of the various steps for the recipe as its my first experience with writing. I do have a picture of the finished product.

The main feature of the Red Velvet is a moist and tender crumb, which is primarily thanks to the buttermilk used in the batter. The deep red colour comes from red food colouring combined with the slight touch of cocoa powder, some bakers use beetroot to achieve the colour, though a much healthier option, I honestly, have been thus far unsuccessful in getting the colour and taste right with beetroot after many experimentations.

Since its a very fragile and crumbly cake, it is best to bake it a day before you plan to serve it so you can chill it a day before frosting it. If you try to apply frosting to a freshly baked cake it will prove to be a very difficult task with a lot of the cake crumbling away.

I would anoint Pooja Dhingra as the one who brought the Red Velvet to me in the form of delectable cupcakes. My deepest gratitude to her for introducing me to this luscious indulgence.

The cake seems to have originated in the South of USA, besides being an all time favourite, its extremely versatile, its a stunner by itself, be it an afternoon tea party or a dinner party dessert.

Get the recipe here https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/63788689/Red%20Velvet%20Cake.pdf

--

--