Five clothing realizations from lockdown

Mathilda Ingemarsson
secondfirst
Published in
5 min readJul 16, 2020

--

— How lockdown changed my relationship with clothes and stopped me from constantly wanting to renew myself

Spending approximately 95 % of my time awake accompanied by the same four walls has left me with many new realizations and habits. Now, slowly readapting (or rather adapting) to a new post-lockdown lifestyle, I realize that I have started to think differently about my clothes and how I dress.

Here are five thoughts and changes that I want to hold on to also in my post-lockdown life:

1. Wearing the same things over and over again

I guess that most of us have observed this pattern or change of routine. I’ve made the “effort” to put on clean and somewhat respectable clothes for every workday, but I keep going back to the same limited number of garments. When surrounded by fewer people, and in a very limited set of environments, we tend to wear the same clothes over and over again, the clothes that we really like. But why do I even have clothes that I choose not to wear? I only want to own a few things of good quality that I really like and will be wearing over and over again. Getting used to not constantly renewing yourself is clearly a habit that can be learned.

2. What did I use to wear and was it comfortable?

The limited number of garments in circulation makes me wonder what I used to be wearing? What did I wear on a regular day in the office and was it comfortable? Sitting in my home office, my level of tolerance against anything tight (apart from my yoga pants) or uncomfortable is equal to zero. In the office, surrounded by people what did I put up with? How much time did I spend thinking about clothes and changing outfits? Probably too much. To limit my time thinking about clothes, when I wear them and before I put them on, I again, need to only own clothes that are comfortable.

Photo by Korie Cull on Unsplash

3. Change of season changes trends

Although I always left the comfort and safety of my flat to excurse on my daily exercise, it came across as quite a surprise when I one day walked out and realized that the season had changed. So when the time for a summer holiday suddenly arrived and I would finally leave London for a trip to the countryside, I felt a bit confused packing my bags. When you’re normally exposed to the subtle everyday changes of season, you’re slowly changing the things you wear too, so now I had no clue. My imagination made me repeat a tried out recipe and I ended up packing a bag with the exact same clothes as I remember packing for a trip last summer. And why not? The concept of going back to a tried out summer closet year after year should be applied to all seasons. Because just as the season changes, so do trends as it is a smart way for retailers to introduce new trends by secretly sneaking in subtle changes in the design which makes you constantly wanting, or feeling like you have to, renew yourself — and buy new clothes. On top of that, in recent years, retailers have speeded up the fashion-cycle and managed to make us believe that both seasons and trends change every fortnight instead of four times a year — making us buy even more. But when you’re not out and about, you don’t notice the sudden changes in trends and you also stop comparing yourself which makes it is easier to take a step back and objectively observe different trends. So instead of looking forward, I will look back at every season as the change of season is a way to renewal in itself. Getting used to not constantly renewing yourself is also a habit.

4. Getting used to my naked skin

Besides my glasses, it feels both strange and unnecessary to put anything on my face, and why would I? Was I really wearing makeup for my own sake pre-lockdown? Or was it because I was expected to, or just to avoid comments like “you look tired, are you not feeling well?” and then to please others? I do admit that I look better, healthier, and more awake wearing makeup, but by doing so am I also portraying a false image of what I really look like, to others but foremost also to myself? Moving away from makeup, and getting used to my own skin, I have found myself starring at women wearing foundation and full makeup at Tesco, wondering whether they have put on that mask of makeup, solely for their visit to Tesco or if they just stuck to their pre-lockdown habits and would also wear makeup when they’re just sitting around their house all day? Personally, getting used to the image of my own naked face looking back in the mirror has lowered my own expectations on myself and I will do my best to not reraise the bar!

5. The tipping point between self-care and social pressure

Putting all the pieces together, my relationship with clothes, style, and looks is two-sided. On one side, I like to take care of myself with things such as taking a shower, working out, putting on clean, comfortable, well fitted and beautiful clothes, getting a haircut, shaving, and taking care of myself. Just as it’s important to look after others it’s as important to not forget or neglect to look after oneself.

But in the meantime, it’s easy to tip over to the other side of the coin. Influenced by social pressure from society and social media, it’s easy to start to act or look at a certain way and dress for others, and not for yourself. On top of that, different social environments might demand different things from us so we also need to put in efforts to balance different roles with different expectations. Efforts that are done foremost to not upset or make others, or ourselves, uncomfortable by departing from the group or norm.

As humans are programmed with a herd mentality and to not depart from the herd, it’s not until we’re being separated from the herd, as in lockdown, that it becomes clear what we actually want to dress, do or be like. And with that said, I hope that I can embrace and hold on to my new habits also post-lockdown.

--

--