About the authors…

Nina van Leeuwen
SEE the Double Burden
3 min readNov 14, 2020
Screenshot during Zoom session

Dear enthusiasts for global health topics,

We are Suzanne, Nina, Goos, Anne Ruth & Charlie. We are currently participating in a minor at the Vrije Universiteit of Amsterdam called Global Health.

On this blog page we would like to introduce you to the double burden of disease in South Eastern Europe (SEE), concerning: mental health disorders. This can be related to alcohol abuse and HIV/AIDS.

Firstly we would like to introduce ourselves. Here you can read some background information on the authors.

  • Suzanne Barnasconi

My name is Suzanne and I am 22 years old. I was born in Paris, and after living there for a few years I moved to London. When I was 7, I moved to Utrecht and now I live in Leiden. I study Biomedical Sciences where a lot of courses are focussed on diseases in the human body. I really like this minor because I like to look at diseases in a broader perspective.

  • Nina van Leeuwen

Hey! My name is Nina and I am 20 years old. I was born in Maastricht and was raised bilingual, as my mum is from the UK and my dad from The Netherlands. Currently, I live in Amsterdam and in my spare time I like to dance and make coffee, especially cappuccinos. I study Health & Life sciences at the VU. In particular I am interested in prevention through lifestyle and learning about norms and values of different countries around the globe.

  • Goos Last

I am 22 years old. Originally, I am from Sittard, a city near Maastricht in Limburg. I moved to Amsterdam in 2017 when I started studying the bachelor Health Sciences at the Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam. In high school I have always been interested in health from a global perspective.

  • Anne Ruth Bakker

Hi! My name is Anne Ruth and I am 22 years old. I am from Gouda and born and raised typically Dutch. Even though I have always been very interested in nutrition and sports, I studied many economics, languages and art courses in highschool. Where the interest stayed and knowledge lacked, I decided to follow up by studying Nutrition and Dietetics at the HvA in Amsterdam. Where I am mainly focussing on product managing. Now I want to gain more knowledge in nutrition, diseases and health in a global perspective. So far, this minor is doing its job and really provides in the knowledge I searched for.

  • Charlie Aardewijn

Hi! I am Charlie, 20 years old, born and raised in Hilversum, The Netherlands. Since 1,5 years I am living in Amsterdam where I follow the bachelor Science, Business and Innovation at the VU. This bachelor teaches me technological, social and economical aspects of technological innovations in the sustainability & energy and life & health sector. In this field, my interests go out to technological innovations in the life and health sector, especially in low- and middle income countries. With this minor I hope to learn more about the health challenges around the world, so I can apply those to what I have learnt from my bachelor.

--

--