The Potential Of LEX: An AI-Powered Text Editor

Testing an AI text editor

HungryMinded
5 min readNov 14, 2022

--

Photo by Pavel Danilyuk on Pexels

While researching AI tools I am constantly signing up on waiting lists for early access and beta releases of new tools. And I recently gained access to LEX. Which is a modern text editor that has some embedded AI-powered features. Today I am going to test it out, and share my insights with you.

I’ve written this article using the Lex editor and some parts of this are AI-generated. But I will let you know which ones.

I found and tested this tool myself and am not in any way affiliated with Lex.

With that out of the way, let’s get going!

Features

It offers most of the things you would expect from a text editor. But there are some new features, you will have a difficult time finding somewhere else. Here, have a look at the main toolbar:

Most of these icons are pretty self-explanatory and offer options for formatting. Nothing revolutionary there. But it gets the job done.

AI assistant

But the first two buttons are extras. These are responsible for some AI magic. Let’s try them out!

The first one is “Ask Lex”, when pressed a new window pops up. And you are greeted by your new AI…

--

--

HungryMinded

A Top Writer on Medium, AI-enthusiast. Always curious and always HungryMinded.