MY FIRST DAY AT SEEDSTARS ACADEMY

Jeremiah Jacob
Seedstars Academy
Published in
2 min readApr 20, 2016

Just the first day at the Seedstars Academy Nigeria and I’m like wow! exactly what I needed. I mean exactly what every budding entrepreneur needs. Now I’m convinced the time invested in the application and selection process was worth it.

After an exciting moment at the Seedstars Nigeria selection bootcamp which saw 20 entrepreneurs invited from over 500 applicants spread over Nigeria. The selection processes before the selection bootcamp was ‘fun-work exercise’. From the application process where we needed to do a 60 second video demonstration of how the academy would be of benefit to applicants, to the analytic and logic questions that keeps you staring at your PC when you are done (LOL). Next was the most exciting part- ‘the sales challenge’. I had to use all my skills and tactics in mobile marketing and social media marketing, infact I was about doing a paid facebook Ad. to get as much client as possible.

What was the sales challenge?

Simple. Get as many clients as possible within 7 days (1 week) to help them design their business website at a fixed cost of $125 (N25,000). They have to sign an agreement which you’ll send to Seedstars before the end of 7 days. This for me was exciting because for this ‘cause I was made’, I had trained lots of start up and emerging entrepreneurs on leveraging social media and mobile marketing for business growth and it was time toput my skills to test. Truth be told, I was also ‘kind of scared’ because I didn’t have an idea who the other applicants where, this pushed me to market more and re-brand my offer when I needed to. Well, obviously, I scaled through, then came the selection bootcamp (which saw 10 persons scaled through)- Oops that’s a story for another day.

Well, I’m at the academy now and the atmosphere is great! The energy in the house is super, the Seedstars staff- this guys are world class, and the ‘entrepreneurs in residence’ as expected are intelligent-smart geeks. Nigeria indeed is blessed with potentials and Seedstars is here to give it full expression.

Expect regular post from me on what’s happening in the house. Thanks for your time.

Much Love!

Jacob Jeremiah

--

--

Jeremiah Jacob
Seedstars Academy

Business Intelligence Analyst | Venture builder | Emerging VC