From Employee to Entrepreneur in 10 Steps

Seedstars
Seedstars
Published in
2 min readApr 24, 2015

I hated my job. It’s not that I didn’t like the people there. I actually had a really good time. It’s just that I didn’t see any point in what I was doing. I was either drawing slides for at least two weeks, making sure that everything was formatted correctly and that everybody’s ass was covered.

Or I was stuck in daily conference calls where noone was taking any decisions. Same thing over and over again. Ok, I actually did some other stuff as well but that’s all I can remember right now. I forgot about all the other stuff.

Oh yeah, I pitched at least ten ideas and none of them ever saw daylight (more on this later).

So at one point I couldn’t take it anymore (and was too lazy to look for other opportunities inside the company) and quit my job. That was in the summer of 2013. Ever since I’m on the grind and doing what I’m doing.

Like writing stuff…

And as a matter of fact a lot of people started asking me all sorts of cool questions. One that pops up over and over again is the question about how to stop being an employee and start being an entrepreneur. How I did it and so on.

So I decided to write a more detailed answer to this question. Here you go:

  1. Don’t quit your job
  2. Start saving money
  3. Plant your seeds
  4. Learn how to sell
  5. Write every day
  6. Pitch internally
  7. Network inside & outside your company
  8. Learn the damn platforms
  9. Build up a demand/follower base
  10. Get your first paying customers

And once you make enough money (or saved enough money) on the side you can do the final step.

You can take down that clown mask, quit your job and buy yourself some freedom…

This post was first published on Yann Girard’s Typepad.

--

--

Seedstars
Seedstars

Impacting people's lives in emerging markets through technology and entrepreneurship. https://www.seedstars.com/