Interviews — Informal Learning Spaces

Olga Wang
seed
Published in
2 min readOct 20, 2017

We interviewed 12 students in 4 informal learning spaces in the Loeb Building Tunnel, Loeb Building Lounge, University Centre, and Mackenzie Building at Carleton University. Following quotes were taken from 4 of the interviews.

Q: What were you doing before sat here?

I was studying in the Second Cup in Canal Building, but my battery was dying, I need to charge my laptop, so I came here. If they offer an outlet, I would probably stay there.

Q: How do you feel about the lighting here?

I hate it. If I study here for too long, it gives me a headache, which is why I’m very motivated to just finish whatever I’m doing and get out of here. But it’s a good kind of motivation.

Q: Why do you like quiet environment?

I feel it’s easier to concentrate. And we usually need to ask a lot of questions, it’s easier to hear each other, so we’ll be able to talk.

Q1: Do you prefer studying alone or as a group?

I feel it depends on the subject. For this, I’ll definitely prefer studying in groups.

Q2: What kind of class is that? Why do you prefer study in groups? What kind of material do you prefer studying alone?

It has a lot of mechanics problems, and if I don’t understand something, I can easily ask my classmates. More like biology and stuff not likely to be working through problems, simply the understanding of concepts.

Q: Why not the library?

I hate the library. There’re just so many people, so much noise, and it’s so crowded. And the bathrooms are really far away from most of the tables. If you’re not studying with someone, you have to pack all your stuff to go to bathroom.

Why did you pick this spot?

Because it’s closer to the library and close to our class. We want a spot close to library just in case we want to print something. And if we want a spot with more privacy and quieter, we can go to 3rd or 5th floor in library, it’s closer there. We also chat with each other while doing work, we can talk here.

Why do you like the library?

Because it motivates me to study. By seeing others studying, it just makes me want to study. For me, I usually go to 3rd and 5th floor because there are less people and it’s quiet.

--

--