Detachment

Chris R.
Seeing God in the Ordinary Things
2 min readApr 3, 2017

The Lord has a funny way of teaching us to be detached from the “things of this world.”

I have been on a mission to be healthier. I’ve eaten more salads these past few weeks than in all of 2016. I’ve also been trying to exercise regularly.

It was a beautiful afternoon, so I took my road bike and did a few rounds on a nearby trail. The trail intersected with a road. I wasn’t expecting to see a car cross, so I panicked when I saw one. I fell sideways.

My ego was bruised more than my leg, but my shiny new road bike was the biggest casualty.

It took me almost the whole summer of last year to research this bike, and when the Chief Financial Officer (a.k.a my wife) finally allowed the purchase, I was beside myself! I got it for a reasonable price on Black Friday. I’ve been riding it here and there since then, but I’ve been riding more regularly since the warmer weather.

Now, my beloved bike was not perfect anymore! Several parts are now scratched up.

As I assessed the damage, I realized how attached I was to this bicycle.

Then, I remembered that the Lord taught me to be more detached from things. This has been his overarching lesson for me this Lenten season.

I wish it didn’t have to be at the expense of my bicycle, but I am happy the Lord loves me enough to teach me his ways.

--

--

Chris R.
Seeing God in the Ordinary Things

Beloved child of God. Husband. Dad. Physician. Disciple. A writer who can't stop talking about God's goodness.