God Speaks to Us, Even through Tattoos

Chris R.
Seeing God in the Ordinary Things
3 min readJun 5, 2013

Have you read the book, Who Moved My Cheese? It is a book written by Dr. Spencer Johnson about two mice and two miniature men who live in a maze. He uses these characters to illustrate our possible reactions to change.

Well this week, someone moved my cheese. It wasn’t just moved. It seems like Blair Walsh from the Minesotta Vickings had fun with my cheese and kicked it across a football field.

As a creature of habit (or COH, as my wife fondly teases), I certainly prefer my cheese to stay put. Naturally, I was disconcerted by the change that had happened. Actually, I was mad — fuming!

Tobit knows a thing or two about the cheese being moved. Tobit was a holy man. He describes himself as such: “I Tobit, have walked all the days of my life on paths of fidelity and righteousness. I performed many charitable deeds for my kindred and my people…”

As holy as he was, Tobit should have know beter than to sleep on an open courtyard. There were sparrows perched above him and some of their poop got into his eyes and he became totally blind! Talk about change! At one point, his wife even mocks him “Where are your charitable deeds now?” she said. “Where are your righteous acts? Look! All that has happened to you is well known!”

Tobit was gracious in his suffering. In fact, in Tobit 3, he blesses God saying, “You are righteous, Lord, and all your deeds are just.”

I wish I acted more like Tobit. I’ve been mostly grumpy for a couple of days until I saw Hayden’s tattoo…

My wife, Melody, bought something from the Internet recently. While checking out, she was given the chance to buy several magazines for almost nothing. She knew I was too busy for magazines so she got things that interested her.

Today, my wife’s first issue of Glamour magazine arrived. I normally stay far away from these types of magazines (I don’t like the perfume) but the cover model caught my eye, it was Hayden Panettiere. You probably know her from ABC’s hit new show Nashville. I, being the geek that I am, know her from the less know TV show Heroes.

I noticed that Hayden had a tattoo on her back that said Vivere senza rimpianti. I flipped through the magazine to page 243 and learned that this is Italian for “Live without Regrets.” Wow.

(courtesy of the BridgeMaker)

Live without regrets. I didn’t expect that God would speak to me through a tattoo.

--

--

Chris R.
Seeing God in the Ordinary Things

Beloved child of God. Husband. Dad. Physician. A writer who can't stop talking about God's goodness.