3 Things I Learnt About the Women of the Future

venera lekay
SEEK blog
Published in
3 min readSep 27, 2015

--

Last week, thanks to the passion of Sarah Redmond from our Learning and Development team, and the backing of our CEO Mike Ilczynski, SEEK held a week long camp for young females interested in the tech industry. It was called Camp SEEK and you can read about the initiative below.

I was lucky enough to spend the first morning with the girls holding some ice-breaking sessions and giving an introduction to innovation.

During one of these sessions I asked the girls to talk about a website, product or app they use and explain how it has changed the way they live their lives; what they love about it; and what they don’t like so much.

Very soon, a few things become apparent.

Young women today have a confidence that I am envious of

I could not believe how comfortable these girls were sharing their opinions in front of 15 other teens they had never met (and several adults). As the week progressed, we saw the girls spruiking their ideas to the entire SEEK office during their creat-a-thon marketplace and presenting problem statements, research methods and app ideas in front of an audience of 100 parents plus SEEK staff. With gender bias still strong in the workforce, particularly in senior management positions, it is encouraging to see such a confident, motivated generation of women ready to take over. I wonder if this confidence would be affected in any way if we opened the Camp SEEK program to the other sex.

Young women are concerned about online bullying, body image and mental health

During our discussions the issues of body image and mental health came up many times. The ladies don’t often read comments in Youtube videos, Instagram feeds or other social media platforms as they’re often filled with hate and “disgusting comments”. They are concerned that people between the ages of 14–18 don’t have an avenue that they can use for advice or help with body image or mental health issues. They think that most services are aimed at older women.

Young women today do not waste their time on things or people they don’t find valuable

This may sound negative, but I admire the ladies for this trait. Too often I have sat in a seminar, or class, or conversation that offers me no value whatsoever, but I have felt too rude to excuse myself and spend my time more wisely. Instead I sit there with a fake smile on my face, remembering to nod occasionally while I think of all of the ways I could be better spending my time. I envied those who have faked a phone call, excusing themselves and got back to important business while I’ve sat there in physical pain. I’ve not interrupted someone to let them know that they’ve already told me this story 4 times, and instead let them take 15 minutes of my life, again. These women will let you know when they don’t understand the value they are gaining, or if they don’t care. Sure, they’ll learn a little more tact as they get older, but there’s no wasting these ladies’ time.

I cannot express how proud I am of these women who chose to participate in this program during the first week of their school holidays. They were all amazing young women who inspired me to look at all the problems I have to solve at work with fresh eyes, no assumptions and an open mind. I’m looking forward to you joining the work force in the coming years and making a big difference, no matter what it is you choose to do!

Camp SEEK was the pilot of a bigger program we are rolling out. If you are, or know a young achiever who is interested in learning about the ICT industry, check out Camp SEEK for more information.

--

--

venera lekay
SEEK blog

Food, Seinfeld, Tunes, Beach, Nutrition and Sleep lover. Senior Product Manager