Being Selfish: Taking ‘Me Time’ To Grow Knowledge

Dave Pryce
SEEK blog
Published in
3 min readJul 19, 2016

The LAST conference

It was the LAST conference in Melbourne a few weeks ago and I presented my first conference talk.

The talk was about learning and growing knowledge.

I wanted to inspire others, not only, to follow my lead for themselves, but also to give them something practical to use as part of their 2 days at the conference.

My Story — Why am I passionate about this

2 years ago I’d been on a great training course (Management 3.0 by Jurgen Apello) and learned some great tools and techniques for team management and motivation.

3 months later, after being pulled into an urgent project and putting the organisation first, I was facing team problems.

Had I not been shown the techniques to deal with these issues?

It was a case of ‘use it or lose it’ and I lost it, so did SEEK.

Never Again

Having faced this problem, I now give myself time to learn. This means putting myself first and being a bit selfish.

Fixing the Problem

With a new determination, I wanted to make sure I made full use of my subsequent learning experiences.

Over then last 18 months I have found myself running lots of knowledge share sessions on: Design Sprint, Lean UX and Retrospectives in addition to writing blog posts and presenting.

Some interesting things about learning.

You forget 90% of what you learn in 3 days, unless you do something with it. You need to to review what you have learned: blog about it, present about it, share it.

You can remember more of the things you learn by simply imagining you have to teach it to someone else.

Call to Action

So what can you do?

At the end of my talk I wanted to give everyone in the audience something practical they could do in order to get better at learning and growing knowledge.

Newbies
Experienced learners
Managers and Leaders

--

--

Dave Pryce
SEEK blog

Scrum Master, Consultant @elabor8 | Facilitator, Disrupter, Speaker, Scrum and Kanban Trainer. Passionate about Agile, science and the planet.