I’m disappointed to report that I didn’t pack as stylishly as these travellers.

What my DIY move has taught me about embracing change

Seema Miah
Mindful Me
Published in
2 min readMay 14, 2019

--

Taking seven suitcases to the airport at four in the morning was never going to be fun. Nearly taking out one of my fellow passengers in the bag check-in queue because one of my bags slipped from the top of my mountain of luggage and crashed on the floor made the whole experience a lot worse.

Usually, when I’ve had an embarrassing and stressful moment like this, I go into full-on panic mode and give myself a hard time for not asking friends to help me, and for being mad enough to think I could do this on my own. But lately I’ve been concentrating on focusing more on just seeing things which don’t work out without adding all these emotive statements in my thinking. We all make mistakes. Nobody is perfect and the best thing I can do is to be more less critical of myself.

Thankfully, all the other passengers were so kind and surprisingly, no one gave me a hard time for my near fatal bag-stacking antics. Being more calm and conscious meant that I took a breath, regrouped and accepted the help the other passengers gave me in looking after my bags while I asked for help from airline staff.

I was taking back all my belongings because I’m moving from Budapest back to my home in Aberdeen. It’s been especially tricky at times like this to stay positive because I always find goodbyes difficult; I’ve been working hard to not get so emotional about it. I’ll miss living in Budapest and I’ll miss the friends I have here. But I know that this is something I need to do in order to switch career.

It’s hard to accept sometimes that life is in a constant state of change. But becoming an auntie has made me all too aware that we’re changing all the time, even if we’re not conscious of it. My nephew was born three short years ago, and he’s just started nursery. His five month old sister is already getting ‘tummy time’ and will be crawling around soon. I remember holding her as a newborn what seemed like a second ago.

Seeing them grow has definitely made me realise that it’s important to stop giving myself a hard time, and to be fully present in the situation we’re in right now. The present is all we’ve got, so it’s time to make the most of it.

--

--