Bailey Andrade
Self Care BA
Published in
2 min readDec 14, 2018

--

How I Practice Self Care in Daily Life

The whole point of this thread of self care is for the readers to better understand their abilities of how to become less stressed and more in touch with themselves. What I mean by “in touch with themselves” is the emotions coming straight from the source-the brain. Each step to self care affects the brain into working harder and still calm at the same time.

Some ways I practice self care are :

  1. Sleep
  • Sleep is probably one of the most important aspects of self care that I take very seriously. Sleep affects everything someone does.

2. Reading

  • Reading challenges the brain to be able to think more critically in situations. I haven’t been the biggest fan of reading since I was little however I have found topics that interest me and encourage me to pick up a book for a little while.

3. Bathing

  • Bathing is another aspect that I take seriously. Showers and baths are just a time for me to settle down and engage into my own thoughts. It is when I am sitting alone in the bath with some candles and a book that I truly find peace and a stress-free moment.

4. Homework

  • I know this idea sounds awful and it really is but the feeling of accomplishment when all tasks are done and relaxation can start is probably the best time of the day.

5. Sports

  • Playing sports to me is a time where I can take my mind off of all things that are stressing me out at the time. Playing in a sport can enhance one’s’ physical ability as well as their relational self care.

6. Music

  • Music is also one of my favorite ways to unwind. By closing your eyes and listing to music you can take your mind off of everything outside of the beat of the song.

7. Hammocking

  • Hammocking is a relaxing activity that I participate in daily (mostly in the summer). The rocking of the hammock creates a space where I can just watch the movements of the sky and my surroundings without being bothered by the burdens that stress me out.

8. Talking

  • Talking about things that are going on in my life help me to let go of the stress that weighs down on me. Venting about your problems and complaints is a good way to unload stress about whatever is bothering you.

9. Yoga

  • Yoga is a cliche way of finding yourself but it is very effective. The calmingness of yoga can create a space in your mind where you don’t actually have to think about really anything.

10. Journaling

  • Journaling is a very creative and artistic way of letting out your feelings and creating art through lifting the weight off of your shoulders.

--

--