Self Care

Bailey Andrade
Self Care BA
1 min readOct 9, 2018

--

When someone asks us a question like “do you take care of yourself?” we default to answer yes. Yes, of course I take care of myself, what kind of question is that? But when they ask, how we take care of ourselves, the answer gets a little more complicated.

What is self care?

Self-care is any activity that we do deliberately in order to take care of our mental, emotional, and physical health. This theory is often overlooked by many people. However self care is essential to reduce anxiety, keep a better mood, and feel more in touch with yourself.

Knowing what self care isn’t might be more helpful than knowing what it is. Self care is not something that we force ourselves to do. It is something rather that fuels us, or makes us happy. Self care is NOT selfish either, it can be taking care of yourself while also taking care of others. If I don’t take care of myself then I won’t be in a good place to take care of my loved ones either.

7 steps to self care

  1. Physical
  2. Emotional
  3. Spiritual
  4. Intellectual
  5. Social
  6. Relational
  7. Safety and security

--

--