The Mind and Soul: A College Student’s Journey through Meditation

Sydney Wagner
Self Care in College
4 min readMay 8, 2017

I am constantly looking for ways to improve myself and my overall happiness.

I have done so ever since I knew how to Google Search. I am fascinated by ideas and new ways to make life more interesting. One day, I was reading the book The Happiness Project and came across the practice of meditation. Before reading about how author Gretchen Rubin used it to add to her happiness, I thought meditation was really only for Buddhists/west coast hippies. It sounds cheesy, but I truly did not grasp how beneficial it can be when one adds it to their lifestyle.

Then I tried it. It felt strange, and my mind wandered a lot. But with practice, I found it to be a great way for me destress and truly be present, which is what mindfulness is all about. I have found that meditation can enter life in a variety of ways, all it is just slowing your brain and being aware. I have found meditation through running, yoga, and singing; all things I enjoy doing daily. Meditation is something I have become so passionate about over the past two years that I think many college students could use it to their advantage.

One of my favorite spots to meditate is the MKE lakefront after a run.

“The word ‘self’ is so critical…the self really is the soul.” -Tesha Urban

I have known Tesha Urban, my hall minister, for about six months now. She holds monthly meditation sessions for college students in Humphrey Auditorium and a Weekly Spiritual Reflection group called Camino.

Tesha began holding mediation sessions because she believes that college is a time to explore and journey through a “green pasture” of identity.

“Through all of this questioning of identity, it is a great time to look at all sorts of spiritual practices and see what resonates with a person, “ Urban said with a soft smile, “I want expose our community to other practices that can deepen your awareness, your understanding, and possibly interest someone to pursue it more.”

Tesha sees meditation as a very personal and religious thing. She used meditation to help her recover from a time of extreme suffering when she was diagnosed with breast cancer ten years ago. Through meditation, she realized what was truly important in life, and it allowed her to really connect with her soul and with God.

Last summer when Tesha was meditating, she said that God planted Marquette in her mind randomly. She then Googled Marquette ministry, and her job she currently holds came up. She did not even realize that being a residence hall minister existed, and has now found a job she truly enjoys, all through meditation. “Amazing things can happen when you say yes to God, and when you are open and intentional,” Urban stated.

One piece of advice Tesha gives to students interested in meditation is to stay encouraged. “I think people give up on it because we can get busy with life, and making the time, the space…” Urban said. She encourages people who are interested in the practice to set aside a time each day and make a conscientious effort to just be. She shared with me that when she meditates, she thinks of being in her favorite place in the world, invites God, and simply tries to be present in that moment. Although meditation does not have to be religious, Tesha emphasized how it can allow someone who is religious to connect on a much deeper level with God.

With this in mind, it is evident that meditation and mindfulness can have a true impact on the lives of college students. “So many of us, myself included, suffer from anxiety. And so, when we enter into that special space, it’s amazing what can happen. Your whole body can relax.” Urban said boldly.

Relaxation, doing things with more intention, thinking more clearly, more aware of personal wants and needs, are just some of the things I have personally found through meditation. I strongly recommend that all college students give it a try in order to further enrich their lives as they can allow their mind to clear and truly connect to the soul.

--

--