Dreamers

Brittney Cedeno
Self, Community, & Ethical Action
2 min readOct 15, 2019

Growing up I always felt like I’ve had one true purpose in life. I feel like I’ve been put into certain situations with certain people who may need me. At the time being I don’t know if they need me and they definitely don’t know if they need me. But I just feel that within time we both come to realize that I’m looked at as kind of an outlet for some. With all my friends, our friendships all started because of them really being complete strangers and them feeling comfortble enough to share something with me and we’d bond off of that. So now going into this community partner work, I hope to carry this over. These students are going through things I can only imagine but I want to be an outlet for whoever needs it. It’s their story and all I can do is listen but listening can go such a far way. This is what I believe is my role when working with these students.

One of the biggest issues I feel that my community partner is really impacted by is adapting to a new school system and access to higher education. I’m working in a classroom with basically all adults over the age of 20 who don’t know fluent english or have an education higher than the 4th grade. A lot of them spent much of their life working to support their families and didn’t have time for school. That wasn’t their choice but they had to do what was best for their family. So that being, they didn’t always have access to education but they’re here now and they’e trying their best. Four days a week, 2 hours a night, working on their english to hopefully one day be able to really feel apart of this community.

An article I found was “Latino Immigration: Preparing School Psychologists to Meet Students’ Needs”

This article does some focusing on psychological factors of immigrant students and some of the fears they have being here in the United States and going to school. These things can then tie in to developmental and educational problems. Also focuses on how psychologists prep to talk about all difficulties, hardships, and life challenging moments with these students.

--

--