The Role of Empathy in Ending Gender-based Violence

Gina Vucci
3 min readMar 14, 2018

--

Paul Farmer, a physician, anthropologist, and humanitarian, examines the lethal links between poverty and health through the lens of suffering in the chapter, “On Suffering and Structural Violence” from his book, Pathologies of Power. Farmer pushes back on statistics and data as an accurate measure of suffering, and connects readers to the lived experiences of two Haitians, Acéphie and Chouchou, who died as a result of contact with the military: Acéphie from AIDS, and Chouchou from torture. Farmer illustrates how both Acéphie and Chouchou are the victims of structural violence, explaining that their suffering is “structured” because it is historically given (and often economically driven) processes and forces that conspire — whether through routine, ritual, or, as is more commonly the case, the hard surfaces of life — to constrain agency” (40). Throughout his writing, Farmer continues to illuminate the shortcomings in relying on statistics and data to measure suffering in any meaningful way, let alone make decisions on policy, delivery of services, or healthcare. Several of the most influential factors that Farmer highlights are poverty, gender, and race (44). Farmer advocates that these indicators must be included in evaluating and treating disease — as well as addressed as intersecting structures that cause extreme suffering.

In 2009 I almost lost my life, at the hands (literally) of my husband. Today, I am a survivor, a trained domestic violence advocate, and a women’s rights activist — working locally, nationally, and internationally. One of the reasons I am effective as an advocate, is because I am a survivor. My first hand experience allows me to empathize and connect with other victims. This empathy also extends to many other women who experience abuse and violence, ranging from intimate partner violence to rape to human trafficking.

Reading Paul Farmer’s writing reminded me of my of some of my own experiences with extreme suffering, data, and the power of personal stories. Last year, while advocating at the United Nations during the Commission on the Status of Women, I had an eye-opening, heart-wrenching experience. I attended a talk on female genital mutilation (FGM) and femicide. Even after all of my all my experiences, personally and as an advocate, I came to realize that there were forms of violence that I was “numb” to. I had heard about these forms of gender-based violence and I had read statistics, even heard people mention them as part of other talks. However, because of my familiarity with gender-based violence, I had sort of become desensitized to these specific forms of violence and had even kind of lumped them in with other forms of violence. It was not until I sat with victims of FGM and listened to accounts of parents whose daughters were murdered, did I fully grasp the horrific nature of these crimes. Data, statistics, and percentages cannot convey the gravity of these human rights violations and their impact on survivors. Even sharing this story now, cannot convey these horrors. Furthermore, the victims of these crimes are vulnerable because structural violence and the intersections of race, class, and cultural practices.

As a result of my introduction to these brave women and the honor of hearing their stories, I am forever changed. My advocacy work took on new meaning with a broader reach and deeper level of commitment. I came to see that I could not advocate for changes in policies and public perception alone, but that if I was to really advance women’s human rights, I would have to take on the larger institutionalized, social structures that oppress women and make them vulnerable to violence. And that without this larger context, my ability to impact change would be limited.

Today, I am also committed, now more than ever, to share my story and to leverage my resources to raise the voices of other victims. Empathy can shift hearts, minds, and power more effectively than numbers (as we’re witnessing in the me too movement and the Parkland students’ activism!).

--

--