A Comparison of Self-Driving Sensors

David Silver
Self-Driving Cars
Published in
1 min readJul 7, 2017

About six months ago, when we were working with Mercedes-Benz on the Sensor Fusion Module of the Udacity Self-Driving Car Nanodegree Program, I was looking online for a concise and comprehensive comparison of sensor types.

I couldn’t find what I was looking for, so I sat down and sketched out a table myself.

I came across that table recently when I was cleaning up my desk, so I threw it into Google Slides and here it is.

I’m not positive I got every cell in this table correct, as I never ran it by the Mercedes experts. So if you see something wrong here let me know.

But maybe this will be useful to somebody looking for that same comparison table that I never found. And if you know where a better version of that table is, please mention it in the comments.

--

--