The Cruise Origin Is (Maybe?) On The Road!

David Silver
Self-Driving Cars
Published in
1 min readOct 17, 2022

You may see it in San Francisco!

Our purpose-built AV, the Origin, is on track for production! While we eagerly await its arrival for commercial use in the coming months, you may see a human-operated Origin prototype driving on the streets of SF. 👀

I worked on the Origin when I was at Cruise and the vehicle was in pretty early stages. I spent a chilly December week at GM’s Milford Proving Grounds last year, getting the Origin moving autonomously.

If the Origin really is on the road in San Francisco now, or in the near future (the tweet is a little ambiguous), that is awesome progress by Cruise.

The company is on a roll. Eventually, hopefully in 2023, I will be so excited to take my first ride as a paying passenger in the Origin.

Originally published at http://davidsilver.blog on October 17, 2022.

--

--