Focus on the journey, not the destination

Dragos Bernat
Self Habit
Published in
4 min readJan 3, 2015

--

This year was quite a journey — a combination of both pleasure and pain.

As it is almost time for the New Year, reflecting back on what I’ve done in a nutshell, I have managed to complete many goals including: improving my own habits, partaking in many adventures (many outside of my comfort zone), fitness goals (more to come on that in future articles), and being able to meditate for 10 days straight in complete silence.

It would take too many words to sum up everything I did in one article. But I do want to share with you the main things I learned from my experiences, reading, writing, and with the help of my friends and family.

Even though I consider this year to be a success in my eyes, I was met with pain, struggles, and unforeseen failures, but my realization was that everything has only contributed towards my own development.

Let me explain, I have no clue what the future holds but I remain excited because this year taught me that everything that I go experience can applied to my advantage and can help improve my life in some way.

Everything is an experience. You learn something different from everything you do.

Every experience we encounter can teach us something, as long as we remain open, no experience can be labeled bad or good, but rather as an experience that comes with a lesson.

And how you determine that something, is solely dependent on how you choose to interpret the situation.

In addition, this year I solidified my own assumption of what it takes to succeed at anything; this was done purely on a subjective level.

The “secret” to success, if there is such a thing, ultimately comes down to your willingness.

More specifically, the effort you’re willing to exert to reach your goal.

If you’re going to work yourself to the point of exhaustion, doing everything you possibly can to further progress your dreams, day in and day out, you will get there.

More than likely, there is someone out there with the same dream that you have that is currently putting in more work, dedication, energy, and priority into his dream than you are.

It comes down to how hard you’re willing to outwork the person that is trying to steal it away from you.

If you lie to yourself, you will never improve. The only person you end up cheating is yourself.

One of my main goals this year was to publish my first book. Overall I completed approximately 30% to 40% of the book.

Even though I put in work and time towards my goal, the bottom line is that I had not published anything.

Meanwhile, there are authors that have published 10 books or more in a single year.

Why?

Put simply, they’ve outworked me.

And someone is currently outworking you at your own goal.

I’m not going to remain upset because I didn’t meet my goal (complaining doesn’t solve anything), especially because I was the one who didn’t want it badly enough.

But this year is different.

I will publish my first book on productivity because I hold a different mindset than before. I am willing to sacrifice and invest the time necessary to finish my first book and share it with all of you.

I wish you all the best to you and yours

Let me know in the comments what you will accomplish in the New Year.

Tell me your mission statement (whether for personal development or other), your goals, what you wish to accomplish, habits to create, anything really. Share with me how you plan to accomplish it and what you’re going to be doing. If there’s any way I can help, let me know.

Lastly, let me know what you want to see from Selfhabit in 2015. If you don’t want to leave a comment, you can always privately send me an email.

Merry Belated Christmas and Happy New Years!

Thank you for visiting Selfhabit and for following me on my journey.

See you in the next year,

Dragos Bernat

Thanks for taking the time to read this. If you found value in this article, I’d really appreciate it if you hit the Recommend button.

Dragos Bernat writes at SelfHabit where he shares methods and strategies based on research and practical knowledge to help make creating good habits, living healthy, and simplifying life easier. For refreshing ideas on how to simplify your life emotionally, physically and mentally, join his free newsletter.

Connect and stay in touch with Dragos at: Twitter, Facebook, Google+.

--

--

Dragos Bernat
Self Habit

Writer, weightlifter and simplicity enthusiast. I’m always learning and love helping, come say hi! — http://selfhabit.com/ and Twitter: @SelfHabit