Toxic Positivity Vs. Optimism

Dominique Williams
Self-Help Hurts
Published in
7 min readMar 29, 2022

--

What’s the difference, anyway?

Image by theproofphotography on Pixabay

Not long ago, I wrote this story on why “stay positive” often gets in the way of processing anger or grief:

And when I finished it, I thought maybe that would be the end of it. But then I read more things, and began to flesh out the idea that writing on the subject of ‘toxic positivity’ might be a good addition to the concept.

Then John Halstead sent me a link to his story, Optimism: Fraud or Mental Marvel. As I began to respond, it became clear that optimism and toxic positivity were clear opponents. They needed to be separated once and for all.

So, What IS Toxic Positivity?

Have you ever heard someone call you “toxic?” That maybe you have “too much drama” or that you are “too negative.” My favorite is when people start talking about having “low vibrations.”

(The part that tickles me is how those same people often really dig binaural beats or delta wave frequencies, which are vibrationally lower and therefore relaxing and less stressful. 🤦‍♀️🤣)

--

--

Dominique Williams
Self-Help Hurts

I am here to spread compassion, love, and peace- though that may not be nice, sexy, or happy.