3 Must-Haves in Your Anger Management Emergency Kit

Capitalize on your anger to use it as fuel for bettering yourself.

Eva Grape
Self, Inspired.
Published in
6 min readSep 29, 2022

--

AI-generated image

I'm not sure about the rest of you, but I have a good amount of anger in me, which I had to learn to manage over time to serve rather than disservice myself. Now I'm using anger as fuel, as I've observed that I'm more creative and forceful when I'm angry, both contributing to achieving my personal goals. And since anger is unavoidable, I think you may also want to learn what outlets for the anger you could use to better yourself while calming down. So, here we go — follow my lead.

During childhood, I suppressed my anger.

Read this if you had a rough childhood. Skip it if the statement above does not apply to you.

During my childhood, I had a lot of anger piling up. I was constantly frustrated from not having my needs met. My mother was emotionally unavailable as she struggled with several mental illnesses, including depression and frequent meltdowns, so she left little space for me to manifest anger.

Quite the contrary, I became her emotional support and suppressed my own needs because I was the grown-up in that relationship. Because of my family environment, I developed strong reactions against unfairness, which I had…

--

--