8 Great Granny Hobbies for the Elder Millennial to Embrace

We’re skipping right over the midlife crisis, thank you very much.

Crystal Jackson
Published in
6 min readAug 2, 2024

--

Photo by Shelby Miller on Unsplash

I grew up being told I was Gen X just to get shoved into the Millennial category before being insulting labeled as an Elder Millennial. We’re like the middle child of generational labels. But happily, we seem to be skipping right over the midlife crisis and going straight into our granny hobbies — and I’m loving it.

8 Great Granny Hobbies for the Elder Millennial

First, I should specify that I will never allow any potential future grandchildren to call me “granny”. It’s just not a label I desire. I’m sure I’ll choose some other cute grandparent name when or if the time comes. But I have no problem embracing granny hobbies. After all, I deeply loved my grandmothers. I have no problem skipping over the expensive sports car, reckless affair, or other damaging midlife crisis and going straight into more mature hobbies.

1. Gardening

When I think about my paternal grandmother, I think about her in the garden. She was always tending to something out there or canning something she’d harvested. I didn’t take much of an interest when she was alive. I struggled to keep houseplants alive. But I always…

--

--