Things I Did in The ’90s That Seem Utterly Insane Now

There were no cell phones. There was no internet.

Michelle Brown
Published in
4 min readJul 27, 2022

--

Julia Avamotive via Pexels

Traveling cross-country on a Greyhound bus

When I was 20, I traveled on a Greyhound bus from Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada, to Key West, Florida. It took 6 days.

This was the 90s. There were no cell phones. There was no internet. I cringe to think about what my poor parents must have gone through at that time.

Now that I have a daughter, I cannot even imagine the horror. The whole idea seems insane to me now that I’m much older.

I remember being so naive and clueless about the world outside of my little city in Canada. We stopped in countless cities at Greyhound bus stops across the United States — and many of these bus stops were not in the best parts of town.

I had only ever seen places like Los Angeles, New Orleans, or Florida in the movies. It was an adventure, to say the least. I felt like I was in a movie, traveling around like a gypsy. It was exciting.

Most of the people I met along the way were kind and colorful characters, but some were also pretty shady, looking back on it.

I remember one particular bus driver watching me in his mirror while I tried to…

--

--

Michelle Brown

Coffee Shop Gypsy. Word Practitioner. Editor of Heart Affairs + more... Like what I write? You can find more at my Substack https://ponderingnook.substack.com/