10 Things I learned from my mom.

Miss Bosieh
Self-ish
Published in
2 min readMay 25, 2019

Selfish prompt : 10 things I learned from my mom

Photo by Debby Hudson on Unsplash

1. Things change. You won’t be forever young; no one ever is, so make the best of every moment while it lasts.

2. Hate is a cousin to anger; both are poisonous fruits from the same tree. Let go before It darkens your soul.

3. You may not approve or understand the decisions I make, but remember that I made them from a place of love.

4. Freedom is everything. Let no one or anything ever have a hold of you. Dependence is deadly.

5. Age, Distance, Money. These are all just a bunch of figures that should not define or influence you. Be happy wherever with whosoever you choose.

6. There is nothing like a clear conscience, let it be your shadow. Let your gut be your guide.

7. Pray like your life depended on it, work like you didn’t know prayer existed.

8. Nothing beats loyalty. Stay true to yourself and to those that love you.

9. Work for everything you want. Nothing is ever really free. The price is just silent or not yours to pay.

10. Smile, because the good Lord is on your side and don’t forget to have food in your bag. Where will the energy come from to do it all?

African mothers are a special race. They ditch advice in this sassy manner that sticks into your brain forever. My list is very summarised, but trust me, initially the advice came buried in sassy remarks, stories and rants. One thing i’m sure of : my mom loves me, in her own special way and i’ll probably be an updated version of her.

--

--

Miss Bosieh
Self-ish

Lover of life, On a journey to happiness, documenting each step.