10 Things I wish To Tell My Mom.

Sammy J❤
Self-ish
Published in
2 min readMay 25, 2019

A tale of unspoken stories, wishes, and praises.

Hi mom,

I’m more like you than I’d like to admit.
I took over you in so many ways: your fierceness, strength, passion, resilience, authority, boldness, kindness, compassion, impulsiveness, defensiveness, your faith. “Dame de Fer” is how we call you because you never give up and you stand up for what you believe in. What more could I ask for as an example?

I wish we spoke more.
About yourself, your experiences, what you went through and where all that pain is coming from. I wish you let your guard down a few times. I wish you smiled more. Maybe we could both heal together.

I’m not who you think I am.
I’m better, smarter, stronger, a fighter; just like you. I have made mistakes, kept secrets, gone astray but in no way have I forgotten who I truly am. I hope you get to see and know her someday.

I’m scared.
Because time goes by so fast and I worry we may not make up for the lost years. We’ve grown so much and I can only pray our bond gets to be rekindled.

Have I made you proud?
The past few years have been tumultuous, risky, full of tears and both of us being tired and weary. Finally, we are seeing the light at the end of the tunnel. But really, are you proud of what I’ve accomplished even if it took me more time?

I’m sorry.
I judged you, misunderstood you, was mad at you. Daughters and mothers can have complicated relationships because we’re both stubborn. But now I know everything you did came from a place of love. So please forgive me.

I miss you.
The jokes, the teasing, getting on your nerves. The sneaking around and even the arguments.

Thank you.
For setting an example, the lessons, the sacrifices, your unending prayers, your passion to see us succeed in this life.

I bless the day God chose you for me.
I wouldn’t have picked anyone else. And most importantly,…

I love you.
More than words can describe. Now and forever.

Want to read something more from me inline with this? Here you go:

--

--

Sammy J❤
Self-ish

I write to free myself. A girl with a racing mind who finds refuge in her writings and poems. Lets figure out life together.