Photo by Vladimir Fedotov on Unsplash

Afire

Or Affair?

Glory Mafor
Published in
1 min readJan 30, 2021

--

Magnetic,
Helplessly sucked into the force field that is you.
Quicksand,
I blink and I’m sinking in you.
No footholds.
No blindfolds.
I witness my unending fall for you.

I know you’re fire, primal flame
And you will ravage me.
You will exchange my beauty for ashes
You will burn regret into the fabric of my soul.

But I convince myself
A little singeing never hurt anyone.
I tell myself over and over
That my scars will eventually be art.
I‘m ready for the burning
I’m welcoming the flame.

You make the lies roll off my tongue
A little too easy.
I can’t look anyone in the eye.
But nevermind,
Because the only eyes I want to see right now are yours.

I am learning a lot about me with you,
Like how I like my doors;
Locked.
Or how I keep my friends;
Deceived.
Most importantly,
How I can’t imagine myself;
Without you.

--

--

Glory Mafor
Self-ish

Writer, editor, spoken word poet, worship leader. I believe in the transformative power of art and creative expression. Find me on other platforms: @glorymafor2