Before I Say I Do

I’m not sure; can I actually cope with you? Reading the writing on the wall

OLUWASHINA OLUSHOLA SAMUEL
Self-ish
3 min readFeb 23, 2019

--

Photo by Mango Studios on theKnot

"Grhhhh!!!" the alarm clock sounded. It’s 5 AM.

Reluctantly, she managed to turn off the clock. That was her shortest sleep in years. Even though she wanted more sleep-time and tried to go back to bed, she quickly jumped on to her feet; she remembered today is her wedding day!

It’s a great day indeed!

How she wished the feeling was excitement…

Why?

Maria, a beautiful young lady, down to earth compared to all of her peers.
She loves music and plays the piano. A year ago, she graduated from the Music Academy in Oberlin.

David is equally a cute looking guy. He graduated from the same academy as Maria. Back in school, he was all ladies’ crush. David was in the Drama Department and the best student the Academy ever had.

Maria is the quiet type, anti-social, basically an introvert and David found her a perfect defense; a base ground where he could crash his ever wondering ship.
There is no doubt Maria loves David. He was her first love. And she has always absorbed everything he’s done against her for the past 2 years.

David has always taken advantage of her forgiving nature and gentle spirit though this is not a secret to Maria. She prefers to remain silent and thinks at every point she would cope and continue to absorb his wayward attitude.

It’s 10 am already. Family and friends are gathered at the Church Venue. The groom is before his bride; on the altar, about to say their vows while all eyes can’t keep off the bride’s stunning white gown.

Maria looked into the congregation for a minute, there she saw Ruth. Ruth had grown to become, over the years, a thorn in her flesh. David admitted Ruth was his ex-girlfriend yet he claimed to be close friends with her still.

Over there was Magi, a very beautiful but extravagant lady. She had on many occasions drained David of his pockets.

“How dare they show their faces?!” Maria exclaimed. “Am I actually sailing the right course or biting my very own tail?”

Before I say I do,
you should know this too.
I should forever be committed to you;
If you’d bring home trouble,
hiding within the warmth of my embrace,
I would bear with you.
If you go out and cause chaos,
painting our home, red, while I become a laughing stock amongst my peers;
I would be home to mend your sores.

But can I actually cope with all that stuff?
Could I ever sit before the audience and stoop to weep behind the scene anymore?
No!!! Not once more!
Right now, this moment is all I have.
Now, it’s not too late; the next second? I can’t say.
Before I say I do: I rather quit!

--

--

OLUWASHINA OLUSHOLA SAMUEL
Self-ish

"Nothing costs too much if its story is told right" • Storyteller • Writer • Poet • Lover of God🌴