BERETTA

Bate-Epey Ebai Tarkang
Self-ish
Published in
2 min readFeb 1, 2024
Photo by Austin Wilcox on Unsplash

You took a play right out of Anjie’s book and broke me beautifully. I’ve always wanted to elevate, but your love has taught me that the lows of the boy are necessary for the highs of the man. These days, with a heart full of love and the same ever-hungry mind, I just dominate.

Speaking of highs, I’ve been there many times before, but you, my personal brand of heroine, showed me the skies, and now the birds know how I feel; you fill me. It’s you I want in the backseat with me when I watch the stars and pledge “I love you”

Real one, peng tin, there’s only one place I want to walk with you: that’s the aisle, true tin. There’s only one type of man I’ve been since you came in, and that’s a made man. You’re not the height of my achievements, but God chose to give me the crowning before the pinnacle. He trusts me because you believe in me.

Over the years I’ve written things true, fiction, and wishes, but with you here, I am doing things, new, pure diction, everything swishes.

Ginger me slowly. You know those things that you do that make me say your name twice, the wiles that drive me nuts, the walk that makes me look twice, the look that flips the provider in me into a protector. Sheeeiiit, you making me a moist yute… but secretly, in my man cave, with this stupid smile on my face, I’m lovin’ it like. Dammit! I don turn McDonald’s commercial.

I am learning to be your Bat-man when you need a lover, and Beet when you need a friend. I’m honest enough to know perfection doesn’t exist, but the way I see it, you and I will be rings, big wins, highs, lows, and forever intertwined like Shaq and Kobe.

Since you, life’s been peak, and I’m not talking about milk. Since you became MY girl, man’s been packing these feelings, these words, these desires, these truths like a Beretta. When next I see you, it’s on sight, I'm unloading this proposal and a few rounds.

Ngoré, you’ve seen parts of me that only love can reveal, and now you’ve got me bound, to you, and to this beckoning happily ever after.

--

--