I Am Not A Refugee

M Sahr Nouwah- The Hunter’s Grandson
Self-ish
Published in
2 min readJul 17, 2020
Image by Matteo Paganelli from Unplash

I am a refugee, they call me
But I am Colourless and nation-less
Craving with hopes and wishes
Jarring the power who owes me my rights.

I am a refugee, they call me
With rights and hopes
My blood swirls
My aspirations are never in a refuge.

I am the refugee, rejected and tagged
Now, my services so dwell in this land
Saving lives, building homes
My world has changed.

I am a Refugee, they call me
I sing for them — just to ignite
I give them morning inspiration
In their offices, they smile
In turn, I receive coins.

Those coins, my redeemers’ treasure
Feed my impoverished home
Pay my fees to learn and to rise
I am engulfed and caged — holding on.

Today, I am raised to stardom
I am the subway singer; tagged
Sharing my subway melody
In your closet, remember my soul.

I ran from war
I came home
I am the rejected one
Famed and owned by even my foes.

I am a global citizen, call me that, and
I will smile like the morning star
Cut my flesh, my blood is red, no tag
Tear my heart, it is pure, no name.

I am not a refugee
Do not call me names
Call me a global citizen
Make me home and see me prosper.

I am a global citizen
Staunch and bold
I am strong and calm
Lead me and I will lead others.

I am a global citizen
Fearless
My dreams sound global
And my wishes will heal the world.

I dream humanity, not names
I stand for solidarity beyond race!
My days and wishes would bring me home
If I am accepted.

I yearn for your love, not hatred
My colour is not my heart
I serve the good of us not just me
Whether you accept me or not.

I am a global citizen
Drenched in dreams for the world
Creating humanity and humility
We are all one people.

--

--

M Sahr Nouwah- The Hunter’s Grandson
Self-ish

Using poetry and storytelling to challenge issues affecting women and children within modern society, focusing on human development and fighting poverty.