I Don’t Remember My Dreams

A poem

Barah M🌹
Self-ish
2 min readMar 2, 2019

--

Photo by Ant Rozetsky on Unsplash

From the ashes of the night my dreams emerge,
That shake the corners of my soul,
Jolts me wide awake, it appears I was a part of a marathon,
Only I don’t remember.
The ones that linger are in pieces,
In jigsaw puzzles, with broken edges.

Several dreams juxtaposed, with similar faces,
So similar, yet so unique- the arms of my mind can’t let go
How can they?
Each time they do, every reality will impose
The déjà vu moments will appear
Telling me not to forget, what I can’t remember.

I don’t remember my dreams when I wake
Not the good ones, not the sad ones
Some that I remember silence me
The few that I remember assail and confuse me.
So I listen carefully, to people’s dreams
It could be theirs is a revelation to mine.

Could it be, that the part of me that dreams,
Flees away and dozes off when the sun rises?
How do I convince her that the sunrise is as bright,
Almost as calm and precious as the night?
I don’t remember my dreams but I’m not dreamless.
You have to believe me.

--

--