My Crush (2)

Not exactly the fairy tale ending I had wished for…

Kuna Ngwanchang
Self-ish
2 min readFeb 12, 2022

--

Photo by Mae Mu on Unsplash

It’s proving to be one of the best weekends I have had in a long while, at least, so far. Out with my girls, having fun, living the life. Say! Life is short and we must enjoy it. For me, it’s one of those long-awaited short vacations, for temporary stress relief before getting back into the boxing ring of life. I’m stuffed and still craving dessert.

In the middle of a brain freeze from the ice cream and blasting AC, I look up and there is my crush, walking through the door. Yes, my crush from the workshop y’all! That’s alright. No way! he’s walking towards me …. wait, does he recognize me? In microseconds, my brain thaws, activates dopamine, and signals my heartbeat to increase its pace.

Rather, my heart skips two beats at that very familiar smile plastered in my memory from the day we met. At this time my cheeks are flushed bright pink and my stomach rumbles in response to the change. Time pauses and the room goes still. I can hear his shoes pat the floor in graceful strides. He stands before me with that charm of a smile, and my spirit melts. I do some last-minute reckoning: should I hug him or shake his hand? I stare. The hug is awkward but I wish it lasted longer.

Now, brace yourself for what comes next …

I do the needful, I acquaint him with the others. I forget his name. Who forgets their crush’s name?!

He takes a seat. Soon everyone but me is laughing. I could care less about the joke but the giggling persists.

I figure it out. My crush is my girl’s boo!

Wow! The joke is on me. My cheeks turn dull from embarrassment. We lock eyes and I wonder if he can see the pieces of my shattered fantasy. Then my brain starts asking the right questions … what was he doing here? how could he remember who I was after one meeting? why didn’t I think of all these before becoming so forward? His laugh jolts me out of my thoughts and it’s still as euphonious as I remember it. I’m forcing myself to let go. My holiday is ruined. I guzzle my ice cream in shame and make it through the rest of the night.

Walking home lost in thought, minding my business, and done with love, someone bumps into me. Mind you, I really want to be upset but how can I , when I am looking at this caramel, buttery, cinnamon brown-ish dude? I am already falling head over heels!

Let’s see how this one goes.

I guess it didn’t end in tears after all!

……..

Read Part one of the story here

--

--

Kuna Ngwanchang
Self-ish

Roses are red, Violets are blue, I’m a creative writer, a data science enthusiast too.