Ndole

I am my own Chef

Hesley Fonane
Self-ish
2 min readSep 30, 2019

--

Ndole — A CAmeroonian dish

Everyone likes to believe their mother is the best cook in the world but that’s not true, is it? Cooks are the best cooks in the world. Yesterday I had a plate of Ndole so good, I had to pay homage not only to the chef but to the meal itself:

“Two spoonfuls and a half, this is my definition of happiness.
This plate of
Ndole and dodo assembled with finesse.
That aroma, these obstacles, the sight has me drooling,
This is it, the gods of this culinary have passed their ruling.
This is no ordinary dish, it’s the perfect gift given,
This is food for kings, this is manna from heaven.
It is God’s gift to man, it’s what makes us whole,
It’s food for the body, which nourishes the soul.
It is the road to an angry man’s heart,
It is simultaneously a science and an art.
It has to be tasted to be believed
But if you haven’t eaten this, my friend you haven’t lived.
I take a bite and shriek in a spasm
This, oh this, this is better than an orgasm.
This
Ndole, it keeps the eaters wanting more,
I swear it could start and end the third world war.
I’m a glutton for this dish, even as I constipate,
I’m weak in my knees, begging, begging for an extra plate,
I cannot recommend, with a clear conscience, that you eat this food
Because for the rest of your life, nothing else will ever be as good.
But if you are willing to risk that ordeal,
Then I’d tell you about the guy who prepared the meal,
If you must know, I’m talking about my humble self.

“Yes, people, I am my own chef.”

--

--

Hesley Fonane
Self-ish

I’m Hesley Fonane. Sometimes writer, sometimes wronger. Fluent in English and lies-telling. The type of friend your mom wants you to have. Author of two books.