Of Love

and other bad habits…

Portrait d'une Leslie
Self-ish
2 min readNov 17, 2018

--

Of love that wasn’t supposed to exist.
Of love that nurtured feelings while my heart belonged to another.

Truth. I am sorry, I was wrong.
I knew I couldn’t give you the kind of love you deserved,
The one you sought from me.
I almost believed it could happen;
It never was love.

Truth. I am sorry.
I searched for you in the arms of a lover
who couldn’t complete certain pictures.

Truth. I am deeply sorry.
I did care about you.
I loved you, not of the kind you wanted me to.
I warned you, you claimed you understood.
Still, you taunted me with words which still haunt me
each time I think of you.
Is it love if we hurt every day? Is it love if there’s always pain?

Truth. I am sorry.
I lost myself in the process
You made me lose myself in the process;
questions I’ve never asked myself.
I never truly was happy, the smiles were all fake.
You knew my heart belonged to another
but still dreamed of a love which was never yours.

I find it hard to forgive myself
This relationship caused me 3 lives
I am sorry you were never meant to be.

Of love untold
Of sufferings withheld.

Happy Feet

--

--

Portrait d'une Leslie
Self-ish

thinking creatively, writing boldly but most importantly telling my story.