Something Beautiful, Something Cold

Self-ish January Newsletter

Glory Mafor
Self-ish
2 min readJan 11, 2021

--

Photo by Damian McCoig on Unsplash

Hello Self-ish people,

Happy New Year! Welcome to 2021.

We’re grateful to be here and more so that you are here too. We hope the year began on a hopeful note and you’re looking forward to having memorable moments and experiencing growth even much more than you did in 2020.

And speaking of growth, some of us have shared what we learned from 2020 and how it changed us in several ways:

Fọlábòmí gave us a poignant poem about Deep Cuts possibly gotten in the course of 2020, Arnold reminded us to hope in the face of a world that may no longer care about us, Glory Mafor shared the good, bad and ugly about her relationships in 2020 while Joan Amanwi was relieved that her life is easier now because she’s learned to accept the good and learn from the bad.

You would also love reading Morónfólú’s letter from her mother, which is a beautiful testament of the former’s husband, Báyọ̀’s love, in The Problem with Báyọ̀ by ibukun sodipe.

While you enjoy these heartfelt stories, here’s something to look forward to, as this month’s prompt will bring you only the juiciest stories!

January Prompt: Something Beautiful, Something Cold

Winter and extremely cold weather in general, have never been good to me and I recall my parents being so worried when I told them I wanted to move to a Nordic country.

I was watching the snowfall outside my window a couple of days ago and thought it looked really beautiful, I wanted to go out and take pictures. And then in a split second, I felt my teeth chatter and I immediately curled up in my chair. Nope, not today… devil get behind me.

This episode instantly reminded me of Beyonce’s Poison:

“…And I just don’t get it,
How can something so deadly
Feel so right…”

This is true for a lot of things, or people. There’s always that cake that tastes heavenly but then you chew the fondant which is all sugar and you know it will be the death of you. Or that person you’re absolutely in love with but you know you have to let them go because they’re an anchor, constantly pulling you down when you’re trying to grow into a better person.

This month, we’d like to read your stories about those things or those people that are sweet but deadly for you. That forbidden romance, that beguiling addiction… tell us about it. We promise we won’t judge.

There are no rules and no restrictions on form or length so go ahead and thrill us! New writers are most welcome. Do check our submissions tab.

Keep writing and by all means, do not stop reading.

Cheers!

--

--

Glory Mafor
Self-ish

Writer, editor, spoken word poet, worship leader. I believe in the transformative power of art and creative expression. Find me on other platforms: @glorymafor2