By Pixabay on Pexels

The girl who first loved me.

Hesley Fonane
Self-ish
Published in
2 min readFeb 2, 2019

--

To find true love is every man’s greatest quest,
so indulge me to tell you of the girl who loved me first.
Her love is pure, her heart is blameless
but for now, please let her remain nameless.

For I don’t want to arouse any modicum of your envy
because of the love this girl has for me.
Yet, if I keep it to myself I might burst like an overinflated balloon;
that’s how much her love is, like from here to the moon.

I’ve never quite understood why she loves me so;
why I could ask her for anything and she’d never say no.
Why she offers me not just her heart but her liver and kidney too
Or why she has so much faith in all I do.

Hers is love tinged with sacrifice, devotion, commitment, reverence.
A love that cannot be explained, it can only be experienced.
She fights my fights and cries my tears
Feeds my dreams and bears my fears,

Liking those I love and hating those I loathe,
there are angels and there are women, I swear, this girl is both.
I tell her someday this will end, she says she is aware,
she knows I’ll leave her for another girl, but she doesn’t’ care.

She only wants what is best for me,
as long as I’m happy, then so is she.
I’ve spent the best days of my life,
with a woman who can never be my wife

This woman is none other,
than my loving, caring God-fearing mother.

--

--

Hesley Fonane
Self-ish

I’m Hesley Fonane. Sometimes writer, sometimes wronger. Fluent in English and lies-telling. The type of friend your mom wants you to have. Author of two books.