The Right Direction

Why don’t we try a different way, my way?

Barah M🌹
Self-ish
2 min readFeb 9, 2019

--

brenda-chrurch-unsplash

You say we’ll be alright, someday.
Someday, someday but which day?
You say I shouldn’t lose hope,
but I’ve been holding on to a tiny string of hope
that is charring, that is thinning, each day.
You say there are many ways, several we could take.
But I see one path, one clear main path.

You say you understand it, all of it,
Now I understand how skewed our ideas are.
How can kindred souls be so different?
How can the difference that pulls us, tear us?
You say I should trust in the endlessness of your love.
This is bigger than love; this is what we need, to love.

You pull me in your direction,
I follow staring behind like a child missing home.
Hoping after we go your way then maybe we’ll go mine.
But we never, my direction is always the next place, we never go.
We spin and roll in circles getting to the same spot:
No one is willing to bend; none is willing to yield, not me, not you.

We seem so great, so invincible.
They are unaware we could be greater,
They say we are so strong, so wise,
But oh, they don’t know, they just don’t.
They should see us, as we see ourselves, as we truly are.
They should picture the day we will truly be alright.

When do we get there?
Can’t our difference re-unite and bind us?
Can’t your mind fold, turn and twist?
Can’t your mind widen, stare and see?
Can’t we stop taking the same wrong path?
Can’t we move towards my direction?
The right direction?

--

--