The Risks of Never Asking For More

The myth that we only get what we deserve. You get what you demand.

Barah M🌹
Self-ish
3 min readNov 24, 2018

--

Photo credit Josh Marshall on Unsplash

There is a mistake we often make (well some of us). We often make the mistake of not asking for more; not taking risks, not demanding bluntly for want we want or need from others, ourselves and the universe, yes the universe.

I am a typical example, I was told I didn’t crawl as a baby; I simply dragged my butt on the floor. I guess doing so meant I could change my position and still keep my eyes on people, on where I was heading to, I had to be safe .
When I was fed, if the spoon touched the plate in a loud sound they’d be left with a wailing baby. Not only does this indicate I was a foodie; I needed to be safely sure I had my fill before the plate was empty.

As I grew older, I realized the friends I have are people who either approached me first or I saw them every day (classmates). You get my point? My friends were my world I couldn’t bear to lose them (they were few). I didn’t make new ones for fear of possible rejection.I was afraid of falling, of failing in something as simple as friendship.

I was an above average student but when I passed the teaching entrance exams, I didn’t think twice. I wasn’t passionate about it but this meant a steady salary; this spelt safety. What about my dreams? What about these little voices in my head that leave me sleepless and sweaty most nights, telling me: Get up! You should do more, you can.

Just recently things have changed, I have changed. I can count some new friends, friends I made myself. I’ve been yielding to those little voices in my head. I’ve been unafraid of falling… I am on my way, I am stretching, I am becoming…. I am on Medium and I am writing despite the fear, despite the voice of perfectionism calling to me telling me “oh be safe! Don’t publish this, it isn’t good enough…yet.”

Let us keep evolving;

We fail to ask as if asking hurts us, as if it will suck the life out of us leaving us void and annoyed.

Being safe is good, it is excellent, it leaves us with fewer enemies, there is consistency but hardly any peace especially when you know you can do more, be more. We should ask for more. The greatest people ask for more, take risks, never give up. They fail their way to success. They stretch and reach their full potentials. They are aware that the universe is at their command. They conquer their fear of falling, of being unsafe. They are aware that they are rare…open your mouth and ask, there is a risk in not taking risks.

“You are a child of the universe, no less than the trees and stars…’’

Desiderata.

--

--