Why Am I Writing Now?

I lost my inspiration when I found you

Gi Yo
Self-ish
2 min readAug 24, 2019

--

Photo credit: author

I lost my inspiration when I found you
Life is to a writer what an experiment is to a scientist
Ours was an experiment like no other
And just when we awaited results I think the test tube broke.

I’ll admit it, I broke our test tube.

Though strange, our story was better than all I ever wrote
To think that is why I never wrote again.
Why write another love poem when in you I see one,
Why write another love story when we are living one?

It was all fun and I wish I could tell the world then
But as I said, I lost my inspiration when I found you.

And for those days I did, I felt brand new
Instead of writing, I thought about you
And you and me and you and me
Till the sun set and the scales fell off our eyes;
A word and two and the line was drawn.

I wanted to write about it
But like you already know, I lost my inspiration when I found you.

Your eyes…
Wait, why am I writing now?

Photo credit: author.

--

--