You…

A poem

Hesley Fonane
Self-ish
2 min readFeb 22, 2020

--

Photo by Houcine Ncib on Unsplash

Earlier today at the market I was stuck in a queue
Two guys stood behind me. They were talking about you
I pricked my ears and eavesdropped as the duo gossiped.
They spoke about your beauty, how you were made to be worshipped.
They had never seen anyone like you, so much confidence and swag,
With the spirit of a hustler, hustling daily to secure the bag.

They said you talk a lot but you are quite wise,
Your character is flawless, and you’re so nice.
They said you smelled like roses and with an angelic laugh
And your aura is contagious, as joyous as a seraph
They said you have no problems and in effect.
They envied you as your life was perfect.

I wondered how they could say that which made no sense
So I jumped in midway to add my two cents.
Told them you are the bravest soul ever but you have your own fights,
You support everyone but none is there to make your burden light.
You are confident but have major insecurities. I suppose,
You aren’t perfect although you come really close.

They were both in shock and lost for words
One found his voice, while the other completely lost his cords,
With a surprised tone, he asked if I knew you,
I shrugged, slapped on a sad smile and said, “no, but I used to.”

--

--

Hesley Fonane
Self-ish

I’m Hesley Fonane. Sometimes writer, sometimes wronger. Fluent in English and lies-telling. The type of friend your mom wants you to have. Author of two books.