Kaitlyn Abel
Self Motivating
Published in
2 min readSep 26, 2017

--

My name is Kaitlyn Abel. I have a part-time job and I am a full-time student at the University at Buffalo. Balancing a social life on top of working and going to school can be difficult at times. My life can be pretty hectic and finding time to do other important tasks such as schoolwork is not always easy. When I do have time, I also find it difficult to work up the motivations to do what needs to get done.Being able to motivate oneself is an essential skill that can help influence every aspect of life, however this skill is most recognizable for students and workers.

Motivation is a skill that I lack. After expending all of my energy on everyday activities , I find it exhausting to work up the extra energy to do other tasks. These tasks may include exercising or completing an assignment. This skill is of particular interest to me because I intend to motivate myself into motivating so to speak. As I pursue my education and start preparing myself for a transition into the workforce, I would like to focus on developing the skill of self-motivating. Although money carries enough weight of the drive to succeed on the job, it is also important to have other factors besides salary as motivation. This is crucial because as you develop this skill, other aspects of your life will greatly improve from the increase in productivity.

The main person benefiting from developing this skill is the person’s own self. However, it can make other peoples’ lives easier too. For example, if a student gets their assignment done on time and does not procrastinate, both the student and professor benefit. Also, if someone succeeds from the effects of developing self-motivation, it will hopefully inspire others around them to be better as well. It many start a chain reaction of influence.

This skill requires consistent dedication and determination. This skill allows for improvement and it also requires discipline. Developing self-motivation can help improve every aspect of one’s life. This skill can be developed through management and practice. It requires people to be in control and organized. The more I practice motivating myself, the easier it will be to make a habit of it. I plan on beginning this process by becoming more productive at work, being a more efficient student, keeping a planner, emphasizing time management, etc. After each day I will reflect on my progress and record my results in this blog. By the end of this process, I plan on being a self-motivated success story that sets goals and achieves them effectively.

--

--