Introduction of Self Motivation

Jennifer Chau
Self Motivation
Published in
2 min readSep 22, 2017

There are many soft skills that individuals have in which are all very important for being successful at work. Specifically, I believe self motivation is one of the most significant skills which individuals should acquire or have especially in the business field. This relates to my philosophy of work where I believe motivation is essential because if provides individuals with their own incentives and encouragement to reach their goals in work. Rather than working for other, individuals can benefit in many other ways. By having self motivation, individuals can personally grow and also learn important values or aspects in life.

Self motivation is a skill that everyone should have. It is obvious that some individuals have more of it than others but regardless, people generally acquire this skill without even thinking about it. Why? Isn’t the obvious answer because everyone has their own goals to reach and own reasons for working. What I’m curious about though is how people or at what point do people have more self motivation? Is it the encounters or experience they’ve had? Or could it be the people around them? More specifically, what is the main incentive for individuals to self motivate and work harder? I feel as if there’s so much more to the topic of self motivation than it seems which is why I intend to use the next few weeks to practice and learn more about it. In order to make use of or improve this skill, I intend to use several different aspects of learning including dedication, time, reflection, and focus. This skill isn’t necessarily something you can practice on but rather something you can work on according to learning aspects. I plan to reflect upon where I currently am in the work field or in my life and think about where I want to be or ways I can get there. In addition I intend to dedicate my time to focus on myself in order to encourage myself to aim and reach for my goals in life. These are simply some of the ways in which I plan to use these next few weeks to improve this skill.

--

--

Jennifer Chau
Self Motivation

It’s essential to understand the true value in self motivation to be able to reach our goals and improve ourselves