How to Edit a Novel

For people who hate editing

N. K. Carlson
Publishing Guide

--

Photo by Patrick Perkins on Unsplash

I am editing my fantasy novel right now. I wrote the first draft in the summer and fall of 2017 and I am now getting back into it. It is the first of a planned trilogy.

I absolutely hate editing. I hate re-reading things I write. I know, I know, it leads to typos and all sorts of nonsense like that, but I absolutely hate it. But writers have to be editors too. Editing is so hard but it is so worth it in the end. Here is my process and some tips for how you can edit your work. So if you hate editing, maybe this can help you out.

Let it Breathe

After typing “The end,” many writers will immediately charge back to the beginning and begin hammering away at whatever changes they think need to be made. I applaud the enthusiasm, but this is misguided.

After finishing your first draft, let it breathe! Wait before diving back in to edit. I waited over two years. I’m not saying wait that long, but you should wait at least six weeks, if not six months or a year.

Why? Doesn’t that kill all the momentum?

No! What it does is it allows your mind to rest and think of other things. Then, when you pick up your manuscript, you can read it with fresh eyes, almost as if reading it for the first time. Of course, you will…

--

--

N. K. Carlson
Publishing Guide

Author. I write about religion, creativity, and leadership. YA Fantasy trilogy is out now! Subscribe to my email list: http://eepurl.com/gPIFRT